The smallest things in life can mean so much.

Apples for the teacher.
Apples for the teacher.

My cohort have completed their medical module and are getting ready to move out to their biodiversity surveying in the fly camps. I’ve encouraged them to move as far away from Base Camp as possible to enjoy the beauty of the park.

This morning I was surprised by a gift on the medical desk in the office. My students have bought me a Snickers bar each and I’m forbidden to share them with anyone else! Of course, they are a little squashed and melted in true rainforest style, however, I’m humbled by their generosity. Snickers are an expensive luxury in the middle of nowhere.

As a tutor, never forget the profound effect you have on your students and in the absence of apples, other gifts are equally sweet too!

To my students; past, present and future: thank you.

Dipak.

Leave a Reply

