Here’s looking at you, kid.

Here's looking at you, kid.

This is one of my favourite photos of 2014. You’re probably thinking I’ve lost it. As a teacher – medical and otherwise – it gives me immense satisfaction to see my students progress.

Look again at the photo.

What do you now see? A young lady with a stethoscope around her neck.

Look carefully at her face and eyes: I see a young lady with a look of determination. A determination to succeed, to never fail, to stand up and never give up.

Hungry for knowledge, purity in her thoughts, no ounce of malice, empowered by the symbolism of her stethoscope. The fire and drive of youth.

The premed programme has been running for a number of years now and I’m constantly amazed at how my students have excelled. Many are now qualified medics, dentists, EM nurses and even a Vet! Some do not take up formal medical careers but use their experience and reflection to further their chosen studies and lives.

I still enjoy receiving emails, tweets and texts from them with their achievements from all over the world. Secretly my heart swells with pride as I watch them progress and they become successes in their own right.

I wonder if they’ll remember me in years gone by? Perhaps not but I’ll never forget them.

Well, here’s looking at you, kid.

Dipak.

Leave a Reply

